Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
MISL Award Winners Announced
Geison takes MVP, Sagu named GK of the Year for 4th time

MISL News Release

Thursday, March 15, 2012

TAMPA, Fla. – The Major Indoor Soccer League honored its top performers of the season today, announcing the Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year for the 2011-12 season. The winners were announced at an awards ceremony in Baltimore Maryland, site of tomorrow’s first leg of the 2012 MISL Championship Series featuring the Baltimore Blast and the Milwaukee Wave.

Voting for the awards was conducted by league coaches and managers.

Most Valuable Player – Geison, Missouri Comets
Geison had a career year for the Comets, leading the league with 90 points and 38 goals. He also recorded at least a point in 22 consecutive games to close out the MISL regular season.

Rookie of the Year – Slavisa Ubiparapovic, Syracuse Silver Knights
After bursting onto the scene with a 10-point game in just his second indoor contest, Ubiparipovic remained a focal point for the Silver Knights in their inaugural season. The 24-year-old led all rookies with 61 points, tied for seventh in the league.

Coach of the Year – Keith Tozer, Milwaukee Wave
Keith Tozer and the Milwaukee Wave went from strength to strength this season, earning the legendary coach his 700th career victory. Tozer’s side was strong at both ends of the field, leading the MISL with 169 goals and finishing second with only 123 goals against.

Defender of the Year – Mike Lookingland, Baltimore Blast
Lookingland was the anchor of the stingiest defense in the league, which conceded only 108 goals. Blocking 30 shots and being sent to the penalty box only once all season, Lookingland’s leadership was vital to the Blast’s success.

Goalkeeper of the Year – Sagu, Baltimore Blast
Sagu earned his fourth Goalkeeper of the Year award, and second consecutive, after another remarkable season that saw him lead the league in points-against average and wins and finish second in save percentage.

MISL award winners were selected through a vote by MISL team management and select media members.

Baltimore and Milwaukee will face off in the best-of-three 2012 MISL Championship Series starting this Friday night at 1st Mariner Arena in Baltimore (7:35 p.m. ET,, with the second leg set for 4:10 p.m. ET Sunday at U.S. Cellular Arena in Milwaukee ( A deciding mini-game will be played immediately following Game 2 if needed.  

Copyright 2012 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2012 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.
Youth Sports WebWriter Websites, Online Registration Management, Tournament and League Scheduling Systems